New York, New Life <3

Your life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change

IMG_5074

So I made a big move in my life. Both in the literal and metaphorical sense. I followed my neuroscience career to the well-respected Mount Sinai Hospital in New York. Its certainly been a transition. Talk to anyone who has moved to the big apple and not one will tell you it is an easy transition. The noise, the pests, the attitudes, the change in dynamic…..its all mind-blowing and a little exhausting.

And while I work more hours than there is in the day, I am also in the home of shopping and fashion!Whether its Sunday brunch with some tastefully dressed ladies of the older generations or the eclectic downtown scene, New York is vibrant, fresh and fabulous.

Although Im still low on wages I have wandered into a store or two. And now that the humid heat is subsiding and fall is gracing us with it’s presence I wanted to share with you some of my choice pieces for September in the Upper East Side.

Nanette Lepore…..Making me poor

IMG_5078 IMG_5081 IMG_5082

This delicious little find is a gorgeous pattern and a very flattering fit. The cinched in waist makes me tiny all over and the “smoking jacket” look is perfect for New York city cocktail hour. Paired with cigarette pants and some heels this is very glam.

Zara Staple Black Blazer

IMG_5084 IMG_5085

I miss River Island more than I thought I would but I love a visit to Zara for affordable and fine tailoring. This black man-fit blazer is exceptional quality and looks incredibly neat and sophisticated on. For less than 100$ its both versatile and can be layered with scarfs and hats to bring you through to winter.

Walk a mile (or twelve) in new shoes

IMG_5086

I brought enough black boots to New York to fill four suitcases but you can never have enough. And my wardrobe lacked a stylish pair of military boots. Guess had me covered. These boots are super comfortable for pounding the sidewalk (look at me speaking the lingo already) and its a mic splurge piece. I will be rocking these in and out of the lab all fall for sure.

For comedy value here is a picture of me, New York and my new Zara wool scarf that is going to keep me flu free for the whole winter…..(you are welcome)

IMG_5089

So while I learn the ropes at work and how to handle the New York pace I’ve also been busy decorating my first ever apartment. Im finally feeling at home here although I haven’t hung all my pictures because well…..They look better on the floor…progress progress progress

IMG_5091

Im back on track and ready to post post post

Kx

Leave a Reply

