Less of a blizzard, more of a blah-zard

The news and media were all panic stricken this week with the news that snow storm Juno would be hitting the east coast with record winds and more snow dumped that anything seen in recent history. WE planned for a day off work (not for me sadly :)), trains and buses prepared to stop and the queues at Fairways were around the block. While standing in the hour long queue for my bag of oranges and milk it never crossed my mind people were preparing for snowmaggedon!

Needless to say it looked bad from the 14th floor of the lab, all of downtown disappeared in a white-out and people scrambled for home. Friends advised me to stock up on water and batteries. God I love the iPhone torch app. I appeased my mother by buying matches for my one lowly candle and then I crawled under my blanket and watched a netflix marathon.

Needless to say the next day as I prepared for my first ever blizzard conditions I was not shocked. Don’t get me wrong, calling Ireland home means anything more than 1cm of snow is intense. I had to switch my torn vans for actual shoes and had to leap some snow drifts. On my way to work (in an empty building) I took some snaps in central park. The little dogs shivering in their booties and checkered gilets were the highlight for me (and the people skiing to work through the park). The resilience and ingenuity of new yorkers is not surpassed by many. Now roll on summer and the absence of hat hair!

Photos courtesy of my new Olympus Pen E-PL7 – still getting the hang of it all but such a nifty little camera with easy handling and a great look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

